How can I upgrade to the Friends and Family Plan?

I want to upgrade to the Friends and Family plan but I don't know how to!

Cassy from Hallow avatar
Written by Cassy from Hallow
Updated over a week ago

The only option to upgrade to the Friends and Family Plan is via the website. The family sharing option by Apple is not supported by the app and you will need to cancel your existing individual plan to upgrade. Cancelling the individual plan is necessary to avoid being charged twice for renewal.

Please follow the steps whichever apply to you:

If you are a new user without an account:

  1. Choose your Log in Method

  2. Complete the Onboarding questions

  3. On the left side, click Friends & Family and follow the prompts to upgrade

  4. Add the members


If you already have an account but haven't subscribed before:

  1. Click the Log in Method

    1. Continue with Apple

    2. Continue with Google

    3. Continue with Phone or Email

  2. On the left side, click Friends & Family and follow the prompts to upgrade

  3. Add the members

When you've completed that process, you will be guided to invite the members by providing their emails.

They will be sent an email with more steps on how to link their account to the family plan.


If you already have a subscription (Yearly or Monthly plan), but want to upgrade to a Friends & Family plan:

Go to hallow.com/family to log in, click the family button, and follow the prompts to upgrade.

Important ⚠️

You will need to cancel your original subscription through Apple or Google to make sure you aren't charged twice (steps here).

Your Friends and Family plan price will be discounted to account for the number of days in your current plan that has already expired. That discount will be applied to the price of the new Friends and Family plan and the new subscription will start the day you purchase it and extend for the next 12 months.

Example:

If you had purchased an annual subscription for $70 (technically $69.99, but using round numbers for ease) six months ago and today upgraded to a Friends and Family plan - you've already used half of your 12-month plan so half of the price ($35) would be applied to your $119.99 family plan price so you'd only have to pay $84.99 for a new 12-month plan that will start today.

This discount also applies to monthly subscriptions. All of the discounts are based on the days that have passed in your current subscription.

This only applies to one account so if you and your spouse both had a subscription, the discount will only apply for the person upgrading their subscription. The other person must cancel their subscription and join the new family plan.

Note: We do not provide any extra promotions or discounts for the friends and family plan. Additionally, if you redeem a gift card, you won't be able to switch to a family plan from that subscription.


We’re always here to help when you need it. You can reach out through this purple chat window on the bottom-right corner or e-mail us at support@hallow.app

God bless 🕊️

Did this answer your question?